Bangladesh Premier League Winners List and the Most Popular Players in BPL

The Bangladesh Premier League, BPL, is a seven-franchise professional Twenty20 cricket league and the sixteenth most-attended premier league globally. There are three professional cricket leagues in Bangladesh, and the BPL is one of them.

The tournament is often held in November, where teams face each other twice in the league stage. The league started in 2012 when the first-ever Bangladesh Premier League tournament was first held.

The league is made up of seven outstanding teams made up of famous players who have made their mark in history. These players are considered the strongest personalities as they perform at their best in every match. Below is a list of the league winners from 2012 to 2020 and the most popular players in BPL.

List of Bangladesh Premier League Winners (2012-2020)

The eighth season of the BPL was scheduled to be held before the pandemic but was postponed. However, since things are returning to normal, the league is rescheduling matches again. Below is a detailed list of the winners of the Bangladesh Premier League since it first started in 2012.

  • 2012 โ€“ Dhaka Gladiators

The Dhaka Gladiators were the first-ever champions from the leagueโ€™s first season, winning against Barisal Burners in the finals. The team chased down 141 runs in total in 15.4 overs and won the tournament by eight wickets. The first season of the league featured six players, and Shakib Al Hasan was chosen as the season’s player.

  • 2013 โ€“ Dhaka Gladiators

The Dhaka Gladiators came prepared for the second season of the tournament like they do for other BPL tournaments and were determined to retain the trophy. They posted 172/9 batting in total in the finals, dismissing Chittagong Kings by forty-three runs, who had 129 runs. Once again, Shakib Al Hasan was selected as the team player of the 2013 BPL season.

  • 2015 โ€“ Comilla Victorians

The Comilla Victorians got their first major title in the 2015 and third seasons of the Bangladesh Premier League. Out of the six teams that participated in the tournament, they took the trophy, defeating Barisal Bulls by three wickets. Ashar Zaidi was chosen as the team player in the 2015 BPL season.

  • 2016 โ€“ Dhaka Dynamites

The Dhaka Dynamites won the 2016 and fourth seasons of the Bangladesh Premier League. They won against the Rajshahi Kings in the game’s finals with fifty-six runs. As a result, the Khulna Titansโ€™ team member, Mahmudullah Riyad, was selected as the season’s player.

  • 2017 โ€“ Rangpur Riders

The 2017 BPL season was the fifth season of the premier league; it ended with the Rangpur Riders as the champion. They posted a total of 206/1 batting, which was fifty-seven more than the Dhaka Dynamites posted 149/9. In addition, one of the team members, Chris Gayle, was awarded the player of the tournament.

  • 2019 โ€“ Comilla Victorians

Again, the 2019 and sixth seasons of the Bangladesh Premier League with the Comilla Victorians as the champions. The team has a seventeen-run victory over the Dhaka Dynamites, who had 182/9 out of all the runs they made. Shakib Al Hasan was decorated with the player of the 2018 BPL tournament season.

  • 2020 โ€“ Rajshahi Royals

For the first time since the league started, the Rajshahi Royals won their first maiden title in the seventh BPL season. Scoring a total of 170/4 batting first in the finals, the Rajshahi Royals restricted the Khulna Tigers, who had 149/8 in the chase. The winning teamโ€™s member, Andre Russell, was chosen as the player of the tournament in the 2020 season.

The Most Popular Players in the Bangladesh Premier League

Since the league started in 2012, many players have participated and given their best in each tournament. However, an official release of the most popular players in the Bangladesh Premier League has yet to be released.

No sports club has officially released the players with the highest popularity in the league. Additionally, the most popular player in the league gets the highest income and earns from other areas asides from matches.

Nevertheless, below are three league players that have stood out among other players since the league started.

  • Shakib Al Hasan

Shakib Al Hasan holds the record for being the highest wicket-taker in the Bangladesh Premier League. He is a left-handed player with an aggressive batting style and orthodox bowling. ESPN ranks him as the ninetieth most famous athlete in the world.

  • Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle hit the most sixes and highest number of centuries in the Bangladesh Premier League. The Jamaican cricketer is considered a destructive batter and one of the greatest Twenty20 cricket batters.


Seven BPL seasons have been played between 2012 and now, and these teams are all set for the next season. This list of the Bangladesh Premier League winners and the most popular players can help you if youโ€™re a bettor.